Twenty-six organizations received donations from the Chandler Horizon Rotary Foundation at the Thank You Breakfast, totalling over $20,000!
President Tim Gibson, Steve Hewitt, Jerry Turner and Jim Hoenig conducted the program for our annual Thank You Breakfast, honoring sponsors, volunteers 
and participants in our 20th annual Hole-in-One Contest. A large portion of the money earned was given to 26 organizations.Thorobred Chevrolet was thanked for being our Signature Sponsor. Thorobred has been with us for many years, mostly as a Presenting Sponsor, but this year they became even more involved. John Simonson was introduced as were Jerry Anderson, Chuck Meyers Mark Gluvna, Donna Massung and our own member, Steve Marley. Thanks again to Thorobred Chevrolet for their support.
Presenting Sponsors introduced were: Lorna Tremaine from Achen-Gardner Construction; Doug Gardner from Gardner Capital Partners; and Jeff Hammermeister 
from Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, the site of our event. Also recognized were Dennis Troggio, John Walstrom, Kevin Nunez and Dan Spitza from AchenGardner, as well as Ben Martyn, Ben Estell and Mike Erbland from San Marcos.
Platinum Sponsors introduced were: Tim Gibson from Arizona’s Best Maintenance; Chuck Dunn; Phil Lewis from Fantastic Sam’s of Arizona; James Caskey from Legacy Lending U.S.A.; David Zaremba from PGA Tour Superstore (Tim Riecken was unable to attend); William Carey and Paul Wang from Dixon Golf; and Betsy Powell from Sir Speedy Printing (Lori Pierce was unableto attend).
Other Platinum Sponsors unable to attend were: Sanders Achen from Achen Financial Corporation; Matt Brown from Brown & Brown Chevrolet; Tom and Chris Calvert from Fast Signs; Richard Usher from Hill & Usher Insurance; Gordie Sullens from Nike Golf; Michael Pollack from Michael Pollack Investments; and Chip Mulala from San Tan Brewing Co.
Gold Sponsors introduced were: Russ Patzer from Sun Valley Solar Solutions; Bill Ryan and Cory Whyte from ReMax Infinity/The Ryan/Whyte Team; Roger Morsch from State Farm Insurance; Ron Stevens from Wells Fargo Advisors; and members of the Bogey Buddies. Scott Malm from Gust Rosenfeld, and Theresa Clemmons and Greg Thornton from Wells Fargo Advisors were unable to attend.
Tee Box, Ring of Honor, Prize and Other sponsors were thanked. Handouts on the tables listed sponsors as well as past winners, and also organizations which Chandler Horizon Rotary has supported not only in the past year but down through the years as well.
Volunteers from other organizations were thanked, including our Interact Club at Chandler High School; Norm Harsh from Oxford, Ohio; plus Tim and Nancy Schauermann from Forest Grove, Oregon. And we can’t forget our family and friends who helped out.
Steve Hewitt and Jerry Turner, co-chairs of the event, spoke briefly, thanking everyone for their help. Cynthia Cannaert, four-time Women’s Shootout winner, was introduced, but this year as the overall champion. Lisa Montoya, this year’s Women’s Shootout winner, was unable to attend.
Jim made introductions and Steve presented checks from the Chandler Horizon Rotary Foundation to the following organizations, whose representatives told us 
about their goals:

Terry Locke, Chandler Education Foundation Destination College program ($2,000) and Chandler High Grad Night ($500);
Jessie Sands, Chandler Gilbert Family YMCA ($1,000);
Mindy Elias, Boys & Girls Club, Compadre Branch ($1,000);
Rebecca Martinez, Boys & Girls Club, Sacaton Branch ($500);
Shelby Pedersen, I.C.A.N. ($1,000);
Trinity Donovan, Chandler Christian Community Center ($3,000);
Chandler Police Chief Sherry Kiyler introduced Katie Cain from the Victims Assistance Program ($750) 
and John Somerville and Tessa Farrar from the Explorer Post ($500);
Mary Murphy, Pregnancy Care Center ($1,300);
Faith Steele and Carl Brueckman, East Valley Military Support Group ($1,000);
Dena Kidd, Junior Achievement ($1,000);
Helen Davis, Desert Cancer Foundation ($1,000);
Kelly Hutzel, Foundation for Burns & Trauma ($1,000);
PDG Roger Bonngard, Rotary Vocational Fund of Arizona ($1,000);
Tim Schauermann accepted the $1,000 check to purchase a Shelter Box (Jim noted we have learned that last year’s Shelter Box went to Nigeria);
PDG Barb Feder, PolioPlus (our annual commit-ment of $1,000), and Hunger Plus ($500) (Donna Weaver also made an individual 
donation of $100 to Hunger Plus);

Jim noted we divided hunger money this year between Hunger Plus and Stop Hunger Now;
Eric Ehmann accepted the $500 for Stop Hunger Now (both Hunger Plus and Stop Hunger also have received $74 each from our club’s bucket donations);
Paula Bommarito and Joan Kaminski,Camp Soaring Eagle ($500);
Billy Parker, Chandler Gilbert ARC ($500);
Sheryl Christianson, My Sister’s Place ($500);
Deb Leone, Melonhead Foundation ($500);
Major Robert Diedrick, Salvation Army ($500);
Doug Gardner, The H.E.L.P. Foundation ($1,000);
Eric Kulinna and Hugh Smith, The First Tee ($500).

The total awarded was $23,550.00.